Datasets:
material_class stringclasses 15
values | material_grade stringlengths 1 69 | density_kg_m3 float64 16.1 22k | youngs_modulus_GPa float64 0 765 | poissons_ratio float64 0 0.5 | poissons_ratio_fem_safe float64 0 0.45 | value_provenance stringclasses 33
values | citation_gap_note stringclasses 651
values | source_id stringclasses 53
values | source_citation stringclasses 53
values | source_doi_or_url stringclasses 48
values | source_license stringclasses 14
values | redistribution_clearance stringclasses 2
values |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ceramic | Al2O3 | 3,582.25 | 267.191 | 0.265 | 0.265 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Al2O3 | 3,950 | 306.5 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of Al2O3 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this class within this d... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Al2O3 (aluminum oxide (alumina)) | 3,820 | 245.7 | 0.24 | 0.24 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | AlN | 3,313.13 | 304.874 | 0.2415 | 0.2415 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Alumina-titania | 3,950 | 284.5 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of Al2O3 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this class within this d... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Aluminum nitride | 3,260 | 350 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of AlN with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this ... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | B4C | 2,471.7 | 436.404 | 0.191 | 0.191 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | B6O | 2,596.58 | 478.321 | 0.151 | 0.151 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | BN | 2,228.75 | 232.081 | 0.211 | 0.211 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | BaO | 5,852.65 | 84.1481 | 0.293 | 0.293 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | BaTiO3 | 5,689.85 | 130.961 | 0.277 | 0.277 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | BaZrO3 (barium zirconate) | 6,090 | 232.45 | 0.24 | 0.24 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | BeAl2O4 | 3,605.74 | 359.737 | 0.221 | 0.221 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | BeO | 2,971.73 | 370.615 | 0.214 | 0.214 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | BeO (beryllium oxide) | 3,010 | 341 | 0.32 | 0.32 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=source | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of BeO with an allowance for porosity | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | BiPb2212 (Bi(Pb):2212 (superconductor)) | 4,580 | 38.44 | 0.16 | 0.16 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | BiPb2223 (Bi(Pb):2223 (superconductor)) | 4,170 | 34.91 | 0.17 | 0.17 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | CaO | 3,034 | 135.542 | 0.27 | 0.27 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | CaTiO3 | 3,884.79 | 257.899 | 0.2535 | 0.2535 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | CeO2 | 6,482.7 | 160.319 | 0.3235 | 0.3235 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Chromium nitride | 5,900 | 284.2 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of CrN with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this ... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Cr3C2 | 6,724.93 | 401.541 | 0.2875 | 0.2875 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Cr3C2 | 6,680 | 267 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of Cr3C2 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of thi... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | CrN | 6,764.35 | 366.22 | 0.306 | 0.306 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | CrN | 5,900 | 298 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of CrN with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this ... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Cubic boron nitride | 3,480 | 764.75 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of cBN with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this ... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Dy2O3 | 8,154.61 | 166.055 | 0.308 | 0.308 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Earthenware / stoneware tableware [proxy] | 2,500 | 72 | 0.228 | 0.228 | rho=imputed;E=source;nu=imputed | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: upstream filled a macro-class default and fill_log holds no entry for this cell, so its origin cannot be checked | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: upstream filled a macro-class default and fill_log holds no entry for this cell, so its origin cannot be che... | proxy::stresseng_figshare | PROXY of corpus row 'soda-lime' — Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Er2O3 | 9,023.92 | 175.506 | 0.3045 | 0.3045 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Er2O3 (erbium oxide) | 5,830 | 112.7 | 0.32 | 0.32 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | Ga2O3 | 5,687.67 | 183.86 | 0.303 | 0.303 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | GaN | 5,926.93 | 261.476 | 0.247 | 0.247 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Gd2O3 | 7,837.45 | 148.433 | 0.2755 | 0.2755 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Gd2O3 (gadolinium oxide) | 7,410 | 78.2 | 0.27 | 0.27 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=source | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of Gd2O3 with an allowance for porosity | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | HfC | 11,228.3 | 255.654 | 0.307 | 0.307 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | HfN | 13,687.8 | 223.943 | 0.31 | 0.31 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | HfO2 | 10,162.9 | 263.68 | 0.2935 | 0.2935 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | HfO2cEr (cubic HfO2 (Er-stabilized)) | 9,680 | 173.9 | 0.342857 | 0.342857 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=computed | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of HfO2 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: closed from the isotropic elasticit... | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | HfO2cPr (cubic HfO2 (Pr-stabilized)) | 9,680 | 194.55 | 0.137719 | 0.137719 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=computed | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of HfO2 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: closed from the isotropic elasticit... | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | HfO2cTb (cubic HfO2 (Tb-stabilized)) | 9,680 | 177.6 | 0.290698 | 0.290698 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=computed | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of HfO2 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: closed from the isotropic elasticit... | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | HfO2cY (cubic HfO2 (Y-stabilized)) | 9,680 | 173 | 0.281481 | 0.281481 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=computed | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of HfO2 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: closed from the isotropic elasticit... | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | HfO2m (monoclinic hafnia (HfO2)) | 9,680 | 145.8 | 0.25 | 0.25 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=source | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of HfO2 with an allowance for porosity | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | HfO2pEr (partially-stabilized HfO2 (Er)) | 9,680 | 189.5 | 0.244255 | 0.244255 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=computed | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of HfO2 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: closed from the isotropic elasticit... | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | HfO2pEu (partially-stabilized HfO2 (Eu)) | 9,680 | 159.5 | 0.132009 | 0.132009 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=computed | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of HfO2 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: closed from the isotropic elasticit... | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | Ho2O3 | 8,335.57 | 144.77 | 0.324 | 0.324 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Ho2O3 (holmium oxide) | 8,410 | 115.8 | 0.29 | 0.29 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=source | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of Ho2O3 with an allowance for porosity | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | In-Ceram Alumina | 3,950 | 280 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of Al2O3 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this class within this d... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | In2O3 | 6,949.29 | 152.084 | 0.325 | 0.325 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | La2O3 | 5,846.97 | 105.381 | 0.349 | 0.349 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | LaB6 | 4,716.28 | 323.693 | 0.203 | 0.203 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | LaSr21 (La-Sr (superconductor)) | 6,550 | 125.03 | 0.24 | 0.24 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | LiNbO3 | 4,416.11 | 161.385 | 0.284 | 0.284 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | LiTaO3 | 7,190.92 | 180.579 | 0.252 | 0.252 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Lu2O3 | 9,959.04 | 159.367 | 0.33 | 0.33 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Lu2O3 (lutetium oxide) | 9,020 | 165.2 | 0.29 | 0.29 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | Magnesia | 3,580 | 222.9 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of MgO with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this class within this dat... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | MgAl2O4 | 3,469.66 | 249.947 | 0.272 | 0.272 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | MgAl2O4 | 3,580 | 273.5 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of MgAl2O4 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of t... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | MgF2 | 3,040.41 | 129.848 | 0.271 | 0.271 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | MgO | 2,731.47 | 132.531 | 0.309 | 0.309 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | MgO (magnesium oxide) | 3,490 | 275.75 | 0.18 | 0.18 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | MgTiO3 | 3,786.11 | 193.582 | 0.3 | 0.3 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Mo2C | 8,948.84 | 388.828 | 0.28 | 0.28 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Nb2O5 | 3,831.86 | 100.165 | 0.317 | 0.317 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | NbC | 6,868.59 | 320.685 | 0.2925 | 0.2925 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | NbC | 7,820 | 484.5 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of NbC with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this ... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | NbN | 7,988 | 391.795 | 0.2855 | 0.2855 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Nd2O3 | 6,133.75 | 121.057 | 0.322 | 0.322 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | PZT | 7,600 | 70.5 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of PZT with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this ... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Pr123 (Pr-Ba-Cu-O (superconductor)) | 5,270 | 58.5 | 0.180851 | 0.180851 | rho=source;E=source;nu=computed | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: closed from the isotropic elasticity identities (upstream fill_log route=A_ELASTIC_CLOSURE). Basis: isotropic elasticity identities | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | PuO2 | 11,741.6 | 208.328 | 0.323 | 0.323 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Sc2O3 | 3,734.93 | 182.843 | 0.3025 | 0.3025 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Sc2O3 (scandium oxide) | 3,860 | 159.85 | 0.310246 | 0.310246 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=computed | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the crystallographic density of this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=P4_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: crystallographic density of Sc2O3 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: closed from t... | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | Si3N4 | 3,273.63 | 354.356 | 0.252 | 0.252 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Si3N4 | 3,200 | 310 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of Si3N4 with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this class within this d... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | SiC | 3,174.41 | 435.142 | 0.16 | 0.16 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | SiO2 (silica (fused/quartz)) | 2,200 | 78.05 | 0.18 | 0.18 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | Sm123 (Sm-Ba-Cu-O (superconductor)) | 5,190 | 52 | 0.3 | 0.3 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | Sm2O3 | 6,970.87 | 145.122 | 0.319 | 0.319 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | SnO2 | 6,619.52 | 156.099 | 0.283 | 0.283 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | SrO | 4,884.14 | 137.286 | 0.231 | 0.231 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | SrTiO3 | 4,975.47 | 260.679 | 0.244 | 0.244 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Ta2O5 | 7,916.56 | 171.684 | 0.311 | 0.311 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | TaC | 12,790.3 | 326.438 | 0.309 | 0.309 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | TaN | 14,769.4 | 454.329 | 0.262 | 0.262 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | ThO2 | 9,892.86 | 235.561 | 0.291 | 0.291 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | ThO2 (thorium oxide) | 9,690 | 203.1 | 0.23 | 0.23 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | TiB | 4,566.19 | 437.759 | 0.148 | 0.148 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | TiB2 | 4,484.71 | 577.467 | 0.121 | 0.121 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | TiC | 4,879.91 | 420.922 | 0.221 | 0.221 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | TiC | 4,930 | 440 | 0.2835 | 0.2835 | rho=named_standard;E=source;nu=class_prior_self | rho is not reported by the citation on this row: taken from the standard value for this ceramic, with an allowance for porosity (upstream fill_log route=N6_NAMED_CERAMIC_RHO). Basis: bulk density of TiC with an allowance for porosity | nu is not reported by the citation on this row: median of this class within this dat... | stresseng_figshare | Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273 (StressEng) | https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.25881025 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | TiO2 | 3,765.54 | 167.417 | 0.317 | 0.317 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Tm2O3 | 9,296.35 | 183.555 | 0.3 | 0.3 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Tm2O3 (thulium oxide) | 8,530 | 154.5 | 0.29 | 0.29 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | UO2 | 11,269.2 | 240.437 | 0.306 | 0.306 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | UO2 (uranium dioxide) | 10,230 | 190.7 | 0.3 | 0.3 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | nist_ceramics_elasticity | NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | VC | 5,803.84 | 510.428 | 0.223 | 0.223 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | VN | 6,165.13 | 471.674 | 0.255 | 0.255 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
ceramic | Vitreous china / sanitary whiteware [proxy] | 2,200 | 78.05 | 0.18 | 0.18 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | Proxy value taken from fused silica. Sanitary whiteware measures E about 70-90 GPa, so the 78 GPa here falls inside that range and is usable as an order of magnitude, but it is an analogy between two silicates rather than a measurement of this material. | proxy::nist_ceramics_elasticity | PROXY of corpus row 'SiO2 (silica (fused/quartz))' — NIST Ceramics Data Portal, Elasticity (NISTIR 6853) | https://srdata.nist.gov/CeramicDataPortal | US Government work | PUBLIC_DOMAIN |
ceramic | W2C | 16,556.1 | 432.686 | 0.285 | 0.285 | rho=source;E=source;nu=source | All three quantities are reported directly by the source cited on this row | materials_project_dft | Materials Project elasticity + dielectric collections (DFT) | https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4812323 | CC BY 4.0 | PERMISSIVE |
Macro Material Properties for 3D Physics Simulation
Grade-level rho / E / nu priors with per-quantity provenance
21,160 rows — 20,315 distinct material grades across 15 macro material classes — each carrying density ρ, Young's modulus E and Poisson's ratio ν, assembled from 56 public sources for annotating 3D assets and driving rigid-body and deformable physics simulation (Genesis, Isaac Gym, FEM, MPM).
The distinguishing feature of this table is not its size. It is that every single value states what it actually is — measured, derived, or filled — and where it is not a direct measurement, the error has been quantified against data inside the table itself, not asserted.
All fields, including the per-row citation_gap_note, are in English.
Read LIMITATIONS.md before using this for deformable simulation.
1 · Veracity — what is actually measured
| ρ | E | ν | |
|---|---|---|---|
| reported by the cited source, a handbook, or a grade standard | 20,329 (96.1 %) | 1,912 (9.0 %) | 732 (3.5 %) |
| derived from this row's density | – | 19,033 (89.9 %) | – |
| handbook softwood/hardwood group median | – | – | 19,138 (90.4 %) |
| alloy-family / class prior / solver clamp / computed | 831 | 215 | 1,290 |
Only 514 rows (2.4 %) have all three quantities stated directly by a source.
ρ is the only quantity measured at scale. E and ν are estimates on ~90 % of rows. This is a property of the upstream sources — the Global Wood Density Database, which supplies 85 % of the rows, publishes density only. What this table adds is that each estimate is labelled for what it is and its error is measured.
The value_provenance column states the origin of each quantity separately, e.g.
rho=source;E=derived_from_rho;nu=handbook_group. The citation_gap_note column then
says, for each non-source value, exactly where it came from and what its measured error
is. 636 rows carry a value that the cited paper does not report at all — an
alloy-family standard substituted upstream after the original was judged corrupt. Those
are labelled family_standard, never source, and say so in the note.
2 · Plausibility — how it was checked
Four independent checks, none of which relies on assertion:
Internal consistency of wood (19,294 rows). Longitudinal sound speed √(E/ρ) has median 4,296 m s⁻¹, P1 4,056, P99 4,727. This is the known species-invariant value for wood, so E and ρ are mutually consistent row by row — a check that needs no external reference at all.
Isotropic elasticity closure (287 rows with a source-reported shear modulus).
G = E/(2(1+ν)) holds to a median 0.24 % on the 273 rows in isotropic classes. The same
identity over-predicts by 3.3–8.9× on wood and fibre laminates — which is how the anisotropy
caveat in LIMITATIONS.md is quantified rather than guessed. (The few outliers inside the
isotropic set are themselves anisotropic materials, e.g. foliated gneiss.)
Prior-knowledge spot check. 101 checks over 68 well-characterised timber species spanning temperate/tropical, softwood/hardwood and the full density range: ρ 96/101, E 95/101 inside published ranges.
Numerical conditions, every row. 0 rows with ν ∉ [0, 0.5), non-positive bulk or shear modulus, or out-of-range wave speed.
Two calibration steps sit behind the wood values, both with factors derived from data
inside the table and both validated: the density regression is calibrated against USDA
measured MOE (leave-one-out median bias +0.0 %), and all wood is expressed on a single
12 % moisture basis. LIMITATIONS.md §2–3 gives the factors and their derivation.
3 · Traceability — every value has a recorded origin
- 96.2 % of source-reported cells were round-tripped: recomputed from the original upstream data file and matched. GWDD 18,046/18,046 recomputed from 109,626 raw measurement records under the documented aggregation rule; CIRAD 1,010/1,010; SciGlass 890/890; USDA 444/444; Materials Project 342/342; StressEng 677/677.
- Every filled cell traces to an upstream
fill_logentry — 40,936 cells, 0 unmatched. Where a value differs from the raw log entry it is because one of the two calibration steps inLIMITATIONS.md§2–3 applies, and the row says so. The log records the route and the reference for each fill (e.g.C_SG_REGRESSION→ USDA Wood Handbook FPL-GTR-190 Ch. 5). - Grade names: 84.0 % verified against a formal designation system — 17,597 botanical
binomials resolved to
acceptedin World Flora Online, plus CHEMICAL_FORMULA, AA, AISI/SAE and steel grade codes. The remaining 16 % are trade or descriptive names with no standard designation. Only 2 non-grade-level rows survive in the published shards (both named[proxy]); the other 23 class-level envelopes were withheld. - The remaining 848 source cells (3.8 %) come from ~50 small sources, mostly single open-access papers contributing 2–96 cells each, cited but not independently re-derived.
4 · Physics simulation — what you can run
Rigid body (Genesis, Isaac Gym): ρ and E are ready, friction is not in this table. ρ is measured on 96 % of rows and is what sets mass and inertia; E only enters contact stiffness, where order-of-magnitude accuracy suffices. A rigid-body material in Genesis or Isaac also needs static and dynamic friction and a restitution coefficient, and this release carries none of them — supply them from your own contact model. Restitution in particular is a contact-pair property, not a material constant, and no source here reports it.
Deformable (FEM / MPM): no row diverges, and the caveats are per-row.
| tier | rows | share | meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| F1 direct | 653 | 3.1 % | no caveat |
| F2a clamp ν | 38 | 0.2 % | ν > 0.45 would lock linear tetrahedra — use poissons_ratio_fem_safe. 48 rows carry a clamped value in total; the other 10 are wood and appear under F2b |
| F2b anisotropy collapsed | 18,627 | 88.0 % | magnitude usable, deformation shape wrong: transverse stiffness too high by 3–9× |
| F2c ν is a proxy | 1,168 | 5.5 % | numerically fine, directionality lost |
| F3 E error known large | 672 | 3.2 % | low-density wood, E over-predicted 30–100 % |
| F4 blocked | 2 | 0.01 % | an 8 kPa hydrogel and a 2.5 kPa knit sag > 20 % under self-weight at 0.2 m — real behaviour, not a data error |
By class: metals, ceramics, glass, stone, plastics, foam, paper and engineered wood are F1/F2c throughout. Wood is F2b because of the isotropic collapse. Elastomers need the clamp column.
poissons_ratio_fem_safe = min(ν, 0.45) is a solver parameter, not a material property.
The cost of clamping is real — K/G falls from 49.7 at ν = 0.49 to 9.7 at ν = 0.45 — so with
mixed / F-bar elements or a near-incompressible constitutive model, use poissons_ratio.
Linear-elastic validity windows (beyond these, a linear model is the wrong physics regardless of parameter accuracy): wood ≈ 0.3–0.5 % strain, laminates ≈ 0.5–1 %, foams ≈ 2 %, fabrics 1–5 % (the window the moduli were fitted in), elastomers require a hyperelastic model above ~10–20 %.
Three license shards
CC BY-SA and ODbL are both share-alike and cannot be merged into one derived dataset, so the table ships as three. The permissive shard alone covers all 15 classes.
| config | rows | licence | contents |
|---|---|---|---|
permissive (default) |
19,715 | CC BY 4.0 | CC0 / CC BY / MIT / US-Gov public domain. All 15 classes. |
share_alike |
1,021 | CC BY-SA 4.0 | CIRAD tropical timber + Wikidata cross-checks |
odbl |
424 | ODC-ODbL | SciGlass optical and technical glasses |
33 further rows are withheld — 12 Ashby teaching-licence class envelopes, 10 internal
consensus rows, 10 rows whose recorded licence string ("open research dataset") is not a
licence identifier, and one manufacturer datasheet. No real material is lost, but note the side effect:
those rows were the class-level fallbacks, so a part identified only as "wood" has no
single row to fall back on and must be matched against 19,294 species. class_defaults.csv
is provided for that case: a per-class median computed from the permissive shard itself.
Columns
| column | meaning |
|---|---|
material_class |
one of 15 macro classes |
material_grade |
grade / species / designation — unique together with source_id |
density_kg_m3 |
ρ, kg·m⁻³ |
youngs_modulus_GPa |
E, GPa |
poissons_ratio |
ν as reported or filled |
poissons_ratio_fem_safe |
min(ν, 0.45) — solver parameter, not a material property |
value_provenance |
rho=…;E=…;nu=…, per-quantity origin |
citation_gap_note |
for every non-source value: real origin and measured error |
source_id, source_citation, source_doi_or_url, source_license, redistribution_clearance |
provenance and licensing |
class_defaults.csv is a separate 15-row helper for retrieval: per macro class, the median
ρ / E / ν over the permissive shard with a p10–p90 band, a row count, and a
fallback_reliability flag. Use it only when a part's class is known but no grade can be
matched — the band shows what falling back costs. Three classes are flagged: glass
(only 3 rows are permissive, 424 are in the odbl shard), textile_woven (mixes
fabric-scale and fibre-direction rows five orders of magnitude apart, so its median is
meaningless) and wood_solid (the isotropic-collapse caveat applies to every row).
value_provenance vocabulary: source · handbook / handbook_group ·
named_standard · family_standard (cited paper does not report this quantity) ·
derived_from_rho · class_prior / class_prior_self · sim_clamp · computed.
Citation
Cite the sources listed in each row's source_citation. The largest contributors are:
- Fischer, F.J., Chave, J., Zanne, A.E. et al. (2026). Global Wood Density Database v.2
(GWDD v.2), v2.2, Zenodo, 10.5281/zenodo.20815517
— CC BY 4.0. Accompanying article: Fischer et al. (2026), Beyond species means — the
intraspecific contribution to global wood density variation, New Phytologist,
10.1111/nph.70860. Supplies 18,046 rows.
The source file was identified by checksum: the copy used here
(
gwdd_v2.2.csv, 73,386,310 bytes, md5646454bd0ebcecb201fe081d0efde8fe) is byte-identical to the file of that name in Zenodo record 20815517. - CIRAD wood density database (Vieilledent et al.), CC BY-SA 4.0 — 1,010 rows.
- USDA FPL Wood Handbook FPL-GTR-190, US Government work — 262 rows.
- StressEng (Kumar, Kabra & Cole 2024, Scientific Data 11:1273), CC BY 4.0 — 749 rows.
- SciGlass (EPAM Systems), ODC-ODbL — 424 rows.
- Materials Project (Jain et al. 2013), CC BY 4.0 — 114 rows.
- MIL-HDBK-5J (2003) and Smith (1976) J. Res. NBS 80A(1), 45–49, US Government works.
- Downloads last month
- 27